Can we kill each other quickly?

If not having insurance for everything is living dangerously then just kill me. I once pooped my pants at a party when I was about 4 or 5.The van ride home seemed to take forever.

InsuranceA

It starts with our children. I don’t have any. The other day I heard someone talking about having children and heard her say, “how are we going to protect them from everything.” We’re not. They are going to be exposed to something we rather they not be at some point.

The goal being at that point they are comfortable enough to approach you to make sense of it all.

I love Gever Tulley for his talk on 5 dangerous things you should let your kids do. Life is dangerous and finding that line between safety and danger is what kids need to be able to do in order to self-regulate as they grow up.

After childhood we go to schools where mistakes are counted as deductions against our grades. Making mistakes is a great way to learn. Stepping out of line is bad. Sitting still and silent = good. I hate that. Now the only time I sit still is when I choose to do so. The point is I don’t like to be told what to do. And then I do what I want.

What do I want to do?

I have no idea most of the time. But things I plan never turn out exactly like I thought. I think I just want to do more. To be awesome! I think you have to have a positive self-image to even drive you to greatness.

So you don’t love yourself? How can you love yourself more? Eat right. Exercise. And then love others as you love yourself. You probably don’t do anything for anyone else if you don’t love yourself. I should find ways to help more people. Let me know of any way you think I can help you live more dangerously.

safety-first
What is safety anyways?

I used to listen to this music group called Thrice. They had an album titled “The Illusion of Safety” It starts with a powerful “Can we, can we kill each other quickly? Quick enough so I won’t feel it?” Think about it. We drift through life like zombies. And not the cool kind from I Am Legend. The dull kind. What am I doing with my life?

Safety probably has some definition of avoidance of getting hurt. You know how to google. We get jobs and are too afraid to do things that might risk our future. We save for retirement by working 20+ years at some job that we may or may not even like. The stocks you are invested in could all go to zero tomorrow. Maybe there will be another great depression. Maybe the stock market will keep going higher than ever. That would be good for all of us who are saving up our money.

We plan on not being able to work when we are older. We should plan on working longer. Stop thinking of retirement as some final vacation or last world tour. Go places. Travel if that’s your thing. We can’t expect to live off our laurels for 20+ years as we medicate ourselves into the sunset.

This is all stuff I need to listen to. What can I do to help you? What risk am I willing to take? What insurance can I drop?

One thought on “Can we kill each other quickly?

Leave a Reply

