This ain’t no place for the weary kind

At first I had no idea what was happening. It was almost all at once that I realized it. The warmness. The wetness. The realization that I was not in control of my body. The pee just kept going down my leg.

The truck came to a surprising quick stop. The large bearded man got out and called over to us, “Hey what did you throw at my truck?”

“Nothing” I lied.

“I saw you throw a rock at my truck. That could do serious damage.”

I mumbled something like, “yes sir” as I realized I was having the pee scared out of me.

This happened in about sixth or seventh grade. We used to walk to school. Back in my day…. I was with a friend and I was eating some candy “M&M minis”. For no apparent reason I decided to throw one at a passing truck. I never thought I would be walking the rest of the way to school in wet pants.

minis tube

This made a deep impact on me along with the following movies for Day 8 of Claudia’s book Become An Idea Machine.

I believe that great movies tell great stories. And I love great stories.

The Dollars Trilogy
(A Fistful Of Dollars, For A Few Dollars More, and The Good, The Bad And The Ugly) 

These films, beyond being awesome, made an impact on me by showing that great films can be more than just dialogue. The scene selection, camera angles, lighting and music can make a world come alive in a way that goes beyond the script. Plus who doesn’t love a good shootout Western?

Clerks

This movie showed me that even if there is not much change in scenery, great dialogue can make a great movie. At the time I thought Kevin Smith was amazing. I’m not so sure I’d say the same thing now. Either way though the movie was well scripted.

Rocky

This movie is inspirational. You have to decide to get up to do something better. You can pull yourself together to rise to a challenge. And sometimes not losing is as good as winning because of all you’ve accomplished to get there. Also I cried at the end.

Up

This is another great story. Starting the movie with limited dialogue captures my attention and drew me into it. The amazingly catchy and fun music and bright colors also stuck with me. Ultimate take away was that adventure is out there. The struggles of life never slow down or stop but if you let them guide your choices and get in the way you’ll miss it.

Scarface

Any time I want to give up and go be a drug lord, I remember that just because you might seem to be on top of the world, it can all come crashing down. The company you keep is more important than the things you own. Oh and don’t do drugs.

Jurassic Park

A fascinating story for a young boy who grew up on Dinotopia. Besides the obvious of being careful of what you create, I would also say I took away a healthy fear of raptors.

Homeward Bound

The one with talking pets who love their owners enough to go through hell to get back to them. I learned that just because you are apart from someone, it is not necessarily for ever. And just because you don’t understand what is happening doesn’t mean it is bad for you. I always thought they should have just stayed put but then again they would have missed the adventure.

Lion King

Be careful what you desire and the cost to get it. Also being a bachelor is only cool until a female comes around.

Requiem for a Dream

Addiction never looked less fun. The comparison of hard drugs with prescriptions heavily influenced my outlook on modern medications. I am much more skeptical than I once was.

Crazy Heart

Besides finding out how much I like the voice of Ryan Binham, I found comfort in a story of brokenness. It is cathartic to watch. Pick up your crazy heart and give it one more try.

Memento

I was fascinated with the film structure of this movie. The notion that time in stories does not have to be linear made me rethink story telling.

I’m not sure why I didn’t turn around and change pants before going to school that day…

2 thoughts on “This ain’t no place for the weary kind

Leave a Reply

