How Low Can Free Flow Go?

What do you do when you are overwhelmed?

I’m serious.

What do you do? Let me know.

I get overwhelmed sometimes. It’s easy. There are 23 tabs right now on my browser. I have a mess of papers on my table in front of me. My dogs are barking outside. I have unfolded laundry. And on. And on.

All of this is my fault too. It’s because I didn’t take care of things right away. I put things off. I let things get out of control during my last class and haven’t recovered yet. I noticed when I didn’t have a plan of attack, then life seemed to attack me.

I am not particular bothered by all this because I know how to fix it.

Just do it.

But what happens when you don’t want to? Or can’t? That is hard. I’ve had some times like that. But this time it’s mostly just laziness/ tiredness.

I’ll get it straightened out.

Usually what I will do is pick one thing and get that done. Then I feel good. And build momentum. It helps when I have help too. And my wonderful wife is always helpful when it comes to these sorts of things.

Also things get a little hectic when I come up with too many ideas. Writing them down helps. Then deciding what is worth pursuing. And following through. I love getting things done. It’s weird. I could get 1000 unimportant things done and feel great about it. But getting an important thing done feels equally as good. I don’t know.

This makes me remember the TED Talk I watched by Dan Ariely: What makes us feel good about our work?

The answer in part: “Contrary to conventional wisdom, it isn’t just money. But it’s not exactly joy either. It seems that most of us thrive by making constant progress and feeling a sense of purpose.”

TTC

One particular thought I want to discuss is this:

“There’s something about this cyclical version of doing something over and over and over that seems to be particularly demotivating.”

That is what I feel when doing some chores.

Which makes me think of KP. I’ve never been in the military. I’ve read several books about it though. Both fiction and non-fiction. But enough about that. Are they real or accurate? I don’t know. But the description of being on KP in “From Here To Eternity” is the scene I’m thinking about. If you have time to spend on a good long read about a guy trying to figure out his life then read it. The movie leaves out way too much.

I miss reading.

Anywho, for the reason we (and by “we” I mean me) am writing this today.

Day 72 of Claudia’s book Become An Idea Machine.

Write ten things that come to mind for each of the following terms.

This one is more of a idea muscle exercise so it’s not great reading…

I’ll bold the terms. And then free list the 10.

1 passive income: desire, un-achieved, creativity, collaboration, mentoring, rents, landlord, apps, outsourcing, necessary
2 adding value: helping, desirable, possible, objective, growth, appreciated, fulfilling, business, purpose, meaningful
3 going the extra mile: working late, making sure it gets done, following through, not giving up, adding value, being creative, surprising, rewarding, walking, shoes
4 offering something: giving, provisions, handing out, creating, giving back, business, expanding, pleasing, selling, respecting
5 teaching something that will help: overrated, good, profitable, can be impactful, necessary, growth, big business, something I’ve done and will be doing, bad teachers, great teachers
6 giving: worth it, how to do more, not enough to fix everything, can be good by having new better ideas to do things, teaches you value, teaches real perspective of ownership, good for the soul, growing, caring, grapefruit
7 grateful: thanksgiving, friends and family, food, coffee, concern, care, at peace, appreciative, great, kindness
8 want: unending, lust, motivation, capitalism, drive, force, trouble, self-control, creativity, reason
9 need: unending, chore, capitalism, bread, water, love, companionship, a nap, nachos, laughter
10 muse: idea, mouse, moose, maine, mainland, michael, music, mainly, muscle, ancient

There I did it. 100 ideas. Not worth much. But my idea muscle got a work out. I think. I don’t know I took a allergy medicine and it makes me kinda spacey sometimes. Oh well.

At least I’m not feeling overwhelmed. Even though I still have all that stuff to-do.

The cycle continues.

P.S. I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of cycles today. Unicycles. Bicycles. Nope. The circle of life.

And it moves us all.

Leave a Reply

